Access NB Banner




Official results: Nwaoboshi beats APC’s Doris Uboh to retain Delta North Senate seat


Sen. Peter Nwaoboshi, representing Delta North Senatorial District on the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has won the ticket to return to the Upper Chamber of the National Assembly.

In the result of Saturday’s National Assembly election announced in Asaba on Monday, by Dr Ignatius Ezoem, Returning Officer for the Senatorial Election, Nwaoboshi polled 186,423 votes to retain the seat.

His closest opponent, Doris Uboh of the All Progressives Congress (APC), scored 36,350 votes in the election contested in nine local government areas that make up the district.

“Sen. Perter Nwaoboshi having scored the highest number of votes and satisfied all the requirements in this election is hereby declared winner and returned as elected,” Ezoem declared.

From the result declared, the PDP candidate scored 21,557 votes in Oshimili North as against APC’s 1,907 votes.

Interesting stories for you

In Oshimili South, PDP polled 35,281 votes, while APC got 2,841 votes; Aniocha South electorate voted 14,819 ballots for PDP and 3,410 for APC.

Other LGA results are Aniocha North, 13, 258 for PDP and 3,557 votes for APC; Ika South – PDP, 19,124 votes; APC, 7,926 votes, and Ika North East, PDP, 29, 059 votes; APC, 5,833 votes.

In Ndokwa East and Ndokwa West, Nwaoboshi polled 20,571 and 17, 902 votes as against APC’s 3,257 and 2,986 votes.

The senator scored 14, 852 votes in Ukwuani LGA while Uboh got 4,632 votes.

Similarly, in the contest for Ndokwa Constituency seat in the House of Representatives, the incumbent, Ossai Ossai of PDP, polled 52, 934 votes to defeat APC’s Paul Odili, who got 8, 690 votes.


Get breaking news first

* indicates required