Get breaking news first

* indicates required



Update: Gov. Okowa makes fresh appointments


Delta State Governor Ifeanyi Okowa has forwarded a list of fresh appointments into various positions to the Delta State House of Assembly for confirmation.

TheNewsGuru (TNG) reports Governor Okowa forwarded names of ten Commissioners designate, being the final batch, to the State Assembly.

The Governor also named appointees into the boards of the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC), Warri/Uvwie and Environs Special Area Development Agency; Delta State Capital Development Agency, and Local Government Service Commission.

Aniagwu Charles, Matthew Tsekiri, Emman Amgbaduba, Ifeanyi Michael Egwunyenga, Mordi Ononye, Ovie Oghoore, (Mrs) Gbubemi Ikoko, Christian Onogba, Omamofe Joseph Pirah and Henry Sakpra were appointed Commissioners designate And Members of the State Executive Council awaiting the State Assembly confirmation.

Meanwhile, Michael Diden Ejele was appointed Chairman of the board of the DESOPADEC and Bashorun Askia Ogieh was appointed as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the DESOPADEC.

While Shedrack Agediga, John Obukowho Nani, Leonard Anoka and Daniel Itsekirimi Mayuku were appointed as Executive Directors in the DESOPADEC, Grifton Omastsuli, Paul Oweh and Kent Okiemute were appointed as members of the board.

Other members appointed are Joyce Overah, Anslem  Nwokenye, Paul Bebenimibo, Ikechukwukwu Akozor, Vincent Oyibode and Ossai Ochonogor Samuel.

Appointed in the board of Warri/Uvwie and Environs Special Area Development Agency are Joseph Utumara and Ovuozorie Macaulay as Chairman and Director General respectively.

Members appointed in the board of Warri/Uvwie and Environs Special Area Development Agency include Sunny Ezonfade, Amaka Egboro and Kelly Otuedon.

Senator Ighoyota Amori was appointed as Chairman of the Delta State Capital Development Agency, with Joan Mrakpor as Director General, and Ogbueshi Adizue Eluaka, Blessing Adidi and Isaac Wilkie as member

*770# Mobile

For the Local Government Service Commission, Joseph Otirhue was appointed as Chairman with Chukwuka John Greatman, Katherine Ikoko and Rose Asore as members.

Earlier, Governor Okowa, determined to have a formidable team to build a stronger Delta State, had stated why he was giving appointments in batches.

He said that the appointments are coming in batches to ensure that the right set of persons are fixed into the right positions.

“I believe that the process of political appointments is continuous and appointments will come in batches because, we are all aware that there is room for a lot of people to be given political appointments, but, it is not possible to appoint all Deltans into office,” Okowa had said.

Get breaking news first

* indicates required