Ekiti monarchs sue Fayemi over appointment of chairman


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Some aggrieved monarchs have instituted a suit against Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi over the appointment of the Alawe of Alawe-Ekiti, Oba Adebanji Alabi, as the chairman of the state traditional council of Obas.

The suit, filed before an Ado-Ekiti High Court, is asking the court to nullify the appointment of Oba Adebanjo.

It described as a flagrant disregard of the Ekiti State Chieftaincy Law, the action taken by Fayemi to appoint someone outside the stipulated 16 monarchs called “Alademerindinlogin” to occupy the prestigious seat.

The governor had on July 31, appointed  Oba Alabi as the council chairman to serve for a period of two years, following the expiration of Oloye of Oye-Ekiti, Oba Oluwole Ademolaju’s tenure.

Joined in the suit registration are Fayemi as 1st defendant, Attorney General Wale Fapohunda (2nd defendant) and Oba Adebanji Alabi (3rd defendant).

An originating summon filed by Dr. B.A.M. Ajibade ((SAN) on August 7 and deposed to by Ajero of Ajero, Oba Joseph Adewole, on behalf of other 15 Obas, sought an interlocutory injunction restraining  Fayemi from swearing-in Alawe as the council chairman.

The claimants sought the following declarations:

  • ”Whether the 1st defendant is empowered under the Council of Traditional Rulers Law, Cap 15, Laws of Ekiti State 2012, to appoint the chairman of Ekiti State Council of Traditional Rulers on a bi-annual rotational basis from among only class of Obas constituted Alademerindinlogun/Pelupelu Obas of Ekiti State; and
  • ”That the claimants are the only valid authentic Obas or traditional rulers under the classification of Alademerindinlogun qualified to be so appointed as chairman.”

The plaintiffs also sought a declaration that the 3rd respondent can’t be appointed as chairman of the council in consonance with the Ekiti State Traditional Council Law.

By composition, the Council of Ekiti State Traditional Council has permanent and rotational members.

Binge-Cascade-300×250 (2GB)

The statutes stipulate that “The permanent and rotational members shall be appointed by the governor from among the recognised traditional rulers in Ekiti State; and

“There shall be a chairman for the council who shall be appointed by the governor on bi-annual rotation among the Pelupelu Obas in the state.”

In a letter earlier written to the governor on August 2 and signed by 15 Pelupelu Obas with the exception of Oore of Otun, Oba Adedapo Popoola, who travelled abroad, the monarchs told Fayemi to reverse the action.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.