NCC threatens DSS, MTN, FirstBank, 60 others over illegal use of 5.4GHz Frequency [Full list]


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) has accused 63 companies and agencies of government in 11 states of illegal occupation on the 5.4GHz frequency band in the country.

The commission, which addressed a document to all the unauthorised users, said the 5.4GHz band spanning 5.430-5.725GHz frequency range has been licensed in Nigeria and stated that transmission of signals or use of equipment in any form on the band without a frequency license obtained from the NCC is illegal.

In the document signed by NCC Director of Public Affairs, Henry Nkemadu, those discovered to be using the band in the designated places are doing it illegally, it said.

“Companies, government agencies; telecommunications service providers; private companies or any person(s) using this band in the designated places mentioned should note that it is a criminal offence pursuant to section 122 NCA, 2003 to operate in any frequency not duly assigned by the commission,” the industry regulatory agency said.

According to the commission, these companies are at the risk of sanctions including imprisonment, fine and confiscation of equipment put to use on the band illegally.

“The consequences of such act may lead to imprisonment, sanction and confiscation of equipment used in operating the illegal services,” the commission stated.

Out of the 63 entities under scrutiny, three are government agencies; six are banks, and 55 telecoms and technology companies and these companies operate in Akwa-Ibom; Benue; Cross River; Delta; Edo; Enugu; Imo; Kaduna; Kano; Lagos, and Oyo states.

Some of the companies and agencies include Kaduna State Government House; Lagos Internal Revenue Service; Project E-Delta; DSS; Polaris Bank; First Bank; Access Bank; Union Bank; AB Microfinance Bank; Bet Naija; Orange Drug Limited; Churchgate; IPNX; Cobranet; Hyperia; NETCO; Computer Warehouse; Helios Tower; IHS; MainOne; Priority Communications; K-Kon; VDT, Swift Talk

Ivy League 300 x 250 (2)

Telecommunication service listed are MTN, Globacom, Airtel; 9Mobile; Vodacom; Crust Resoources; Cyberspace; Nova Business Centre; Sky Link; Centre Point; Electronics Connections; E-Stream; Cobranet, among others.

According to the NCC, those affected by the illegal occupation by states include Akwa Ibom using 5.547GHz; Benue 5.489 to 5.584GHz; Cross River 5.5189 to 5.600GHz; Delta 5.5987 to 5.700GHz; Edo 5.601 to 5.6989GHz; Enugu 5.489 to 5.618GHz; Imo 5,489 to 5.612GHz.

Others are Kaduna 5.45 to 5.5GHz; Kano 5.6673 to 5.7107GHz; Lagos 5.6756 to 5.6978GHz, and Oyo 5.616 to 5.680GHz.

The commission has given a 14-day enforcement notice to all the unauthorized operators on the band spanning 5.430 to 5.725GHz to vacate and desist from further transmission of signals or use of equipment in any form on the band without authorization obtained from the NCC.

The telecoms regulator said it shall without further recourse and upon the deadline commence appropriate enforcement action including, but not limited to prosecution, fine, and confiscation of equipment used in the illegal transmission of services.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.