Binge-Cascade-970×250 (2GB)




Senate Chairmanship List: Lawan moving towards a rancour free 9th Assembly


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

A cursory look at Senate President Ahmad Lawan’s chairmanship list recently released clearly points to a likely rancour free ninth Assembly.

Lawan must have done a proper and exhaustive consultation with political eggheads to get an appropriate listing of committee chairmanship list that will definitely stand the test of time.

Both foes and loyalists were adequately compensated making the list of Hon Femi Gbajabiamila looks like a consultstion with kindergarten elements.

Nobody on earth could have imagined a Senator Ali Ndume who fought him to the finishing line to emerge as the Senate Committee chairman on Army.

This goes a long way to prove that Lawan was unusually magnanimous in victory as he shelved all forms of animosity while selecting ranking members who stepped on his toes during and after his election.

Unlike in the House of Reps where his counterpart ensured all those that merely raised a finger were all sent to Siberia to die of cold.

The Lagos politician made sure his adversaries that were ranking members became deputies to first timers, the first of its kind in the history of the House of Reps.

Opposition members were made to lick their wounds and properly rubbished for daring to support Hon Umar Bago the brave Niger state lawmaker who dared to contest against czar Gbajabiamila.

Bago was made to chair reps committee on Cooperation for Africa Integration, a committee that will make him voiceless for four years.

But Lawan immediately after the election told his colleagues that the battle is over Nigeria must move ahead to build bridges and make laws to better all citizens.

Keep Naira clean

Senator Dino Melaye and Peoples Democratic Party, PDP Senators including the former Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu who contested against him got a fair deal.

Ekweremadu is to head Environment while Melaye heads Aviation committee, Lawan definitely will make a better Senate President that Nigerians will not be in a hurry to forget.

Former Speaker Yakubu Dogara’s name and top ranking members like Kingsley Chinda, PDP, Rivers, Hon Uzoma Nkem-Abonta, PDP, Abia adjudged the most outstanding lawmaker in the 7th and 8th assemblies failed to make Gbajabiamila’s list.

The man Lawan simply refused to cultivate trouble rather he embraced friendship that may survive four years of his reign.

On the part Gbajabiamila, he cultivated more enemies and embraced trouble that may last the next four years of his reign.

During his inauguration the omo Eko promised to shake the table a little bit but his colleagues were not expecting shaking the table will eventually render them impotent and voiceless for the next four years.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.