Man Utd defender Luke Shaw recalled to England squad


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Manchester United defender Luke Shaw has been included in Gareth Southgate’s 23-man England squad for September’s fixtures against Spain and Switzerland.

Shaw, 23, last played for England in March 2017, as a second-half substitute in a 1-0 friendly defeat by Germany.

Liverpool pair Joe Gomez and Adam Lallana, and Burnley’s James Tarkowski are also included in Southgate’s first post-World Cup squad.

“Luke has always been a player we have liked,” said Southgate.

Shaw endured a tough 2017-18 season, facing public criticism from United manager Jose Mourinho, who questioned his approach to training and commitment to the club.

But the former Southampton player, who has seven international caps, has enjoyed a strong start to the new Premier League season, scoring his first senior goal against Leicester City this month.

“He’s had a difficult period in terms of adapting to a new club and a horrendous injury that he had to overcome,” Southgate added.

“I’m really impressed with his physical condition. He’s shown an extra edge to his game in the last couple of games. He’s shown aggression and a desire not to lose, and is looking back to his powerful best.”

England open their Uefa Nations League campaign against Spain at Wembley on 8 September, before facing Switzerland three days later in Leicester for a Kick It Out international friendly.

Shaw’s United team-mate Ashley Young, who helped England reach the World Cup semi-finals, has been left out of the squad, as has Phil Jones, who is injured.


“I want us to try and capture what we had this summer,” said Southgate.

“Once we’re through this camp, there’s going to be competition from others. People are going to have to play at a good level to retain their places.”

England squad

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Alex McCarthy (Southampton)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Harry Maguire (Leicester City) Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), James Tarkowski (Burnley), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal)


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.