Get breaking news first

* indicates required



Breaking: Ex-DG of NITDA becomes Minister of Communications


Dr. Isa Ali Ibrahim Pantami, immediate past Director General and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) has been sworn-in as Nigeria’s new Minister of Communications.

TheNewsGuru (TNG) reports Pantami, who was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari to replace Adebayo Shittu, was inaugurated Minister of Communications on Wednesday, after having been screened, alongside 42 other appointees, by the National Assembly.

While Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi), retains the Ministry of Science and Technology, former Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) Executive Commissioner of Stakeholder Management, Sunday Akin Dare is now the Minister of Youth and Sports.

Earlier, on Tuesday, President Buhari had appointed Mr Kashifu Inuwa Abdullahi as the fifth DG of the NITDA to replace Pantami. The President had also forwarded Adeleke Moronfolu Adewolu’s name to the Senate for confirmation as replacement for Dare.

President Buhari on Wednesday at the State House Abuja sworn-in 43 Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and unveiled their portfolios, after they have first been screened by the National Assembly, with every Minister sworn-in receiving a mandate.

The mandate is an outline of President Buhari’s next level priorities, deliverables and timelines, linked to the assigned Ministry, and based on the outcomes of the Policies, Programmes and Projects Audit Committee (PPPAC), chaired by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo between March and May 2019), the Policy Dialogue in July 2019, and the recent cabinet retreat.

Boss G. Mustapha was first sworn-in by President Buhari as the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), taking the oath of office before the President, before the  Ministers were sworn-in in batches.


1) Dr. Uchechukwu Ogah – Abia, Mines and Steel Development, State

2) Muhammed Musa Bello – Adamawa, FCT

3) Sen. Godswill Obot Akpabio – Akwa Ibom, Niger Delta

4) Chris Ngige – Anambra, Labour & Employment

5) Sharon Ikeazor – Anambra, Environment, State

6) Adamu Adamu – Bauchi, Education

7) Amb Maryam Katagum – Bauchi, Industry, Trade and Investment, State

8) Timipre Silva – Bayelsa, Petroleum, State

9) Sen. George Akume – Benue, Special Duties

10) Mustapha Baba Shehuri – Borno, Agriculture, State

11) Godwin Jedi-Agba – Cross River, Power, State

12) Festus Keyamo – Delta, Niger Delta, State

13) Ogbonnaya Onu – Ebonyi, Science and Technology

14) Dr. Osagie Ehanire – Edo, Health

15) Clement Ikanade Agba – Edo, Budget and National Planning, State

16) Otunba Adeniyi Adebayo – Ekiti, Industry, Trade and Investment

17) Geoffrey Onyeama – Enugu, Foreign Affairs

Interesting stories for you

18)Dr. Ali Isa Pantami – Gombe, Communications

19) Emeka Nwajuba – Imo, Education, State

20) Suleiman Adamu – Jigawa, Water Resources

21) Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed – Kaduna, Finance, Budget and National Planning

22) Dr. Mohammad Mahmoud – Kaduna, Environment

23) Mohammed Sabo Nanono – Kano, Agriculture

24) Maj. Gen. Bashir Magashi (rtd) – Kano, Defence

25) Hadi Sirika – Katsina, Aviation

26) Abubakar Malami – Kebbi, HAGF and Minister of Justice

27) Ramatu Tijani Aliyu – Kogi, FCT, State

28) Lai Mohammed – Kwara, Information and Culture

29) Gbemisola Saraki – Kwara, Transportation, State

30) Babatunde Raji Fashola – Lagos, Works and Housing

31) Adeleke Mamora – Lagos, Health, State

32) Mohammed A. Abdullahi – Nasarawa, Science & Tech, State

33) Amb. Zubairu Dada – Niger, Foreign Affairs, State

34) Olamilekan Adegbite – Ogun, Mines & Steel Devpt

35) Sen. Omotayo Alasuadura – Ondo, Labour, State

36) Rauf Aregbesola – Osun, Interior

37) Sunday Dare – Oyo, Youth and Sports

38) Dame Pauline Tallen – Plateau, Women Affairs

39) Rotimi Amaechi – Rivers, Transportation

40) Mohammed Maigari Dangyadi – Sokoto, Police Affairs

41) Engr. Sale Mamman – Taraba, Power

42) Abubakar D. Aliyu – Yobe, Works and Housing, State

43) Sadiya Umar Faruk – Zamfara, Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development

Get breaking news first

* indicates required