BREAKING: Lawan defeats Ndume, emerges Senate President of 9th assembly


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Senator representing Yobe North, Ahmed Lawan has been elected the Senate President of the 9th Senate, as he defeated his contestant, Senator Ali Ndume.

At the end of counting, Lawan polled 79 votes to defeat Ndume, who scored 28 votes.

TNG correspondent, Jonas Ike narrates how Lawan’s victory happened:

Voting at the inauguration of the 9th Senate ended at 10:56 am as the Clerk to the National Assembly Alhaji Mohammed Sanni Omolori announced the end of the excercise at the apex parliament.

Omolori who announced the commencement of the voting also hinted that the method of voting at the election will be open secret ballot.

After the roll call of the number of senators present for the voting and inauguration, he announced that there are 107 Senators-elect that are eligible to vote at the election.

Immediately after counting of the votes at the election, the CNA announced that Lawan polled 79 votes to defeat Sen. Ali Ndume who polked 28 votes

There were signs that the APC anointed candidate Sen. Ahmed Lawan iwas leading his opponent Sen. Ali Ndume immediately the counting of the votes commenced.

Earlier after the proclamation of the 9th National Assembly, the CNA had called for the nomination of the candidates for the election wherein Sen. Yahaya Ibrahim OLoriegve (Kwara, APC)
nominated Lawan for the position of Senate President

Lawan’s nomination was immediately seconded by Sen. Solomon Adeola Olamilekan (APC, Lagos).

UBA Wise savers

The new Senate President was immediately sworn-in as he was administered the oath of office and oath of allegiance by the CNA.

Get breaking news first

* indicates required

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.