Fidelity Header Ads

Transport reforms: Senate inaugurates, charges Technical Committee

ImageFile: Transport reforms: Senate inaugurates, charges Technical Committee

The Nigerian Senate has in Abuja today inaugurated the Senate Joint Technical Committee on the Transport Sector Reform Bills with a charge to focus on integrity and efficiency.

“We have invited you today, therefore, to use your technical knowledge to enrich and assist the work of the various Senate Committees to ensure there is regulatory alignment across the entire regulatory arrangements in the transport sector.

ImageFile: Transport reforms: Senate inaugurates, charges Technical Committee

“Your work therefore, is to ensure the integrity of the entire system, the efficiency and legal integrity of the various transport bills enumerated above to enable the Senate reduce areas of conflict, inefficiency, unnecessary regulatory burden and ensure the achievement of the overarching objective of reducing cost of doing business and increasing the ease of doing business for our SMEs,” Senate President Bukola Saraki said in his remark at the inauguration.

Senator Saraki said “this present National Assembly is not unaware of the cry of our people over the issue of bad roads, inefficient rails, bad port operations and dropping efficiency levels in the aviation industry”.

He further stated that “we want to see the day when we shall no longer hear that our people spend endless man-hours stuck in traffic; weeks on end clearing simple goods from the port and the attendant rise in cost of doing business due to these challenges”.

The Senate president expects the Committee is aware of these challenges as well.

He said “we are, yes indeed, in a hurry to ensure we deliver on our promise to our people to pass all our economic reform bills.

“We want to ensure that this exercise is able to cut by a half, our World Bank ease of doing business ranking. In a nutshell, it is important to us that we get it right and your invaluable contribution will be most helpful”.

The Senate president, however, reposed confident on the members of the committee, saying “I believe that we have in our country men and women, some of the most talented and most technically gifted individuals in the world. You have been carefully chosen to serve under this committee because of your technical knowledge of the transport sector coupled with your experience”.

He assured the committee of the cooperation of the Senate, stressing that his office is open.

“My office is open to you to ensure that you are able to deliver on this assignment within 5-7 working days.

“The Senate is hopeful therefore, that you will give us your best,” Dr. Saraki said.

Members of the Committee include Dr. Sam Amadi as Chairman, Mr. Nnanna Ude, Mr. Philip Asante, Engr. Olusegun Toluhi, Mr. Kingsley Amaku, and Mr. Akin Ajibola.

Others are Mr. Kayode Khalidson, Dr. Tayo Aduloju, Dr. Joyce Wigwe, Mr. Rowland Ataguba, Mr. Sotonye Etomi and Mr. Sam Aiboni.