Fidelity Header Ads
Editor's Pick News Niger Delta

Urhobo Social Club elects new executives, honours members

Urhobo Progress Union elects new executives, honours members
Mr Goodie Ibru presenting an award of excellence to columnist and Secretary General, Urhobo Social Club, Mr. Francis Ewherido. With them is out gone President, Chief Simon Ohwofa

Chairman of Davo Dani Microfinance Bank, Prince Austin-Enajomo Isire has been elected the new President of Urhobo Social Club, Lagos. He  took over from Chief Simeon Ohwofa whose tenure ended over the weekend.


Ivy League 300 x 250

Prince Isire in his acceptance speech pledge to build a club house to be called Urhobo House in Lagos. The club had earlier acquired a piece of land at Abijo GRA, Lekki, Lagos, for that purpose.

Olorogun Moses Taiga and other UPU executive members
Chief Barovbe and Member representing Uvwie Constituencey in the Delta State House of Assemby. Hon. Efe Ofobruku
Olorogun Taiga presenting an award to Prince Isire

Speaking after taking his oath of office before a star-studded gathering of Urhobo Sons and daughters, which included Olorogun Moses Taiga, President General, Urhobo Progress Union worldwide; Olorogun Otega Emerhor, All Progressive Congress Chieftain and his wife, Rita and Chief Goodie Ibru, Isire pledged that “we shall reach out to other Urhobo social groups to forge common fronts to promote development of Urhobo land.

“We shall also reach out to other ethnic groups and traditional rulers of other ethnicities within the Niger Delta to work together as Nigeria grapples with looking for the way forward. United, like a bunch of broom, we can move mountains in our cooperative ventures, but alone, we are greatly diminished individually and collectively.”

The new President said “the challenges before us are daunting, but the resolve within us is humongous and we shall surely overcome.” 

He paid tribute to his predecessors, pledging that his executive will stand on their shoulders to reach greater heights. Other executives also elected along with the new President are Chief Jacob Diedjomahor, first vice president; Dr. Isaac Feludu, second vice president; Mr. Francis Ewherido, general secretary; Mr. Clement Awhana, assistant general secretary; Mr. Francis Anidi, treasurer; Chief Emmanuel Ogbon, publicity secretary; Chief Bright Apinoko, Financial Secretary; Dr. David Isiavwe, Social secretary; Chief Jitobo Akanike, legal adviser; Mr. Diamond Okotete, welfare officer and Chief Wilson Okpubigho, sergeant-at-arms

Other dignitaries who graced the handover are internationally renowned artist, Prof. Bruce Onabrakeya, Chief Johnson Barovbe, Chairman, Board of Trustees, USCL; former Deputy Vice Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt, Prof S. W. E. Ibodje; Member, Delta State House of Assembly, Chief Efe Ofobruku; Retired Commissioner of Police, Chief Johnson Ighomereyo; Elder statesman, Chief Godwin Ogbetuo; retired permanent Secretary, Pa Marcus Okagbare and past presidents of the club, Chief Augustine Odo-Tadafe and Most Snr. Evangelist, Emmanuel Evue, among others.



Read Also:  PHOTOS: Erdogen’s wife hosts Aisha Buhari in Turkey

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment